Know what´s inside:

Paraquat/Diquat

Paraquat/Diquat

Paraquat and Diquat are compounds of the bipyridinium group that serve as strong contact herbicides. Their effect sets in after just a very short time, since they are absorbed by the surface of the plants very quickly. The mode of action inhibits photosynthesis in the effected plants. Their cell membrane becomes porous and it loses water, leading the plant to dry up in sunny conditions within just a few hours. Whereas diquat has proven to be particularly effective in killing potato haulm before the harvest, paraquat is mainly used in warm, humid climates as an herbicide against broad-leaved plants and grasses. Since paraquat does not penetrate the bark of trees or the shells of nuts, it is used to combat weeds in orchards and vineyards, as well as on coffee, tea, cocoa, oil palm, nut, and banana plantations.

Both substances are extremely poisonous and improper usage can lead to death. For example, paraquat has led to several lethal cases of poisoning, because it used to come on the market as a reddish-brown, odorless solution, which could be confused for cola beverages or red wine. Nowadays it is mixed with a substance that releases a pungent odor as well as a fast-acting emetic agent. The United States EPA has even classified paraquat as being potentially carcinogenic. Due to their adverse health effects, the use of paraquat as a pesticide was banned in the European Union starting in 2007, followed by diquat in 2019. The maximum residue levels for both substances are listed in the Regulation (EC) No 396/2005.

The GBA Group routinely carries out the analysis of paraquat and diquat in various food matrices (e.g. fruit, vegetables, chia seeds, and more) using LC-MS/MS technology. If you have any questions we are gladly available to answer them.

Sources:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32005R0396

Service

Request for an offer or callback

Do you have questions about a certain topic? You need an individual offer?

Please, use our services to inform us about your matter of interest. You can also reach us by telephone
at +49 40 797172-0

You might also be interested in

Fruit and Vegetables

More

Coffee and Tea

Herbs and Spices

Babyfood

Dried Fruit, Nuts, and Oilseeds

Grains and Cereal

Dietary Supplements and Over-the-Counter Medicinal Products

Fish and Meats

Events

© 2020 GBA Group
Data PrivacyLegal NoticeTerms& ConditionsDisclosure

Wissen, was drin ist:

Kontaktherbizide Paraquat/Diquat

Paraquat/Diquat

Paraquat und Diquat sind wirksame Kontaktherbizide aus der Gruppe der Bispyridiniumverbindungen. Ihre Wirkung setzt nach kürzester Zeit ein, da sie sehr schnell durch die Oberfläche der Pflanzen adsorbiert werden. Der Wirkmechanismus zerstört das Photosystem der behandelten Pflanzen. Deren Zellmembran wird porös und es kommt zum Wasserverlust, wodurch die Pflanzen bei sonnigem Wetter innerhalb weniger Stunden vertrocknen. Während sich das Diquat als besonders effektiv bei der Abtötung von Kartoffelkraut vor der Ernte erwiesen hat, wird Paraquat vor allem in feuchtwarmen Klimata als Herbizid gegen breitblättrige Pflanzen und Gräser verwendet. Da Paraquat nicht die Rinde von Bäumen oder die Schale von Nüssen durchdringt, wird es zur Unkrautbekämpfung in Obst- und Weingärten, aber auch in Kaffee-, Tee-, Kakao-, Ölpalmen-, Nuss- sowie Bananenplantagen eingesetzt.

Beide Substanzen sind extrem giftig und können bei unsachgemäßer Verwendung zum Tod führen. So hat beispielsweise Paraquat zu vielen tödlichen Vergiftungsfällen geführt, weil es früher als rötlich braune, geruchlose Lösung in den Handel kam, die mit Cola-Getränken oder Rotwein verwechselt werden konnte. Heutzutage wird es mit einer Substanz, die einen stechenden Geruch freisetzt, sowie mit einem schnell wirkenden Brechmittel versetzt. Die US-Umweltbehörde EPA hat Paraquat sogar als möglicherweise krebserregend eingestuft. Aufgrund der gesundheitsschädigenden Wirkung ist Paraquat seit 2007 und Diquat seit 2019 in der Europäischen Union nicht mehr als Pflanzenschutzmittelwirkstoff zugelassen. Die Höchstgehalte für beide Substanzen sind in der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 396/2005 festgesetzt.

Die GBA Group führt die Untersuchung von Paraquat und Diquat routinemäßig in verschiedenen Lebensmittel-Matrices (z. B. Obst, Gemüse, Chia-Samen u.v.m.) mittels LC-MS/MS durch. Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Quelle:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32005R0396

Service

Angebots- und Rückrufservice

Sie benötigen ein individuelles Angebot oder haben Fragen zu einem Thema? Nutzen Sie unseren Angebots- und Rückrufservice! Sie können uns auch telefonisch erreichen unter: Tel. +49 40 797172-0

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Obst und Gemüse

Mehr

Tee und Kaffee

Kräuter und Gewürze

Babyfood

Trockenfrüchte und Nüsse

Getreide

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Fisch und Fleisch

Messen & Events

© 2020 GBA Group
DatenschutzRechtliche HinweiseAGBImpressum