Know what´s inside:

Mineral Oil Hydrocarbons

MOSH / MOAH

Mineral oil hydrocarbons (MOH) are compounds that can be obtained through the distillation of crude oil. The term is commonly used to refer to mineral oils that are used for fuels such as gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosine, heating oil, as well as lubricants and solvents. Fundamentally, mineral oils are complex mixtures of a variety of different hydrocarbons that can be subdivided into two groups. On the one hand, there are linear, branched, and cyclic saturated hydrocarbons (MOSH: Mineral Oil Saturated Hydrocarbons), and on the other, there are mostly alkylated aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH: Mineral Oil Aromatic Hydrocarbons). Furthermore, structurally related to MOSH, there are also POSH (Polyolefin Oligomeric Saturated Hydrocarbons), which derive from materials produced using petroleum, such as polyethylene and polypropylene. Due to their strong structural similarities, POSH often cannot be analytically differentiated from MOSH.

Investigations conducted by the European Food Safety Authority found that MOH are present in almost all food products. In particular, in the case of dried food products with a large surface area, such as e.g. flour, semolina, rice, breadcrumbs, or breakfast cereals, you cannot fully rule out the risk of contamination. Fatty foods as well, such as chocolate, butter, nuts, or cooking oils, could be contaminated with mineral oil hydrocarbons. These compounds can end up in the food products in a variety of ways. Potential paths of contamination include the packaging materials (recycled paper, printer ink, jute or sisal sacks treated with oils for waterproofing), lubricating oils from production or harvesting machines, food additives (separating agents, coatings, brighteners, anti-dust agents), gas emissions from the surrounding environment, and many more. With the modern-day flow of commodities and production processes, it is a difficult technical challenge to completely prevent the risk of MOH contamination in food.

When MOH enters the human body through food consumption, these substances accumulate in body fat. In particular, mineral oil hydrocarbon deposits can form in the liver, heart valves, and lymph nodes, thus leading to damage in those areas. Due to the lack of data, however, it is not currently known which exposure level begins to lead to adverse health effects in humans, which is why no tolerable daily intake (TDI) can be recommended. EFSA fundamentally designates MOAH as being concerning, and, according to the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), mineral oil contamination, either from MOAH or MOSH, is always undesirable. Consequently, no legally binding maximum residue levels in food exist at the moment. In order to gain some orientation, one could consult the general principles and requirements of food law (EC) No 178/2002, the contamination regulation (EEC) 315/93, the GMP regulation (EC) No 2023/2006, as well as the food contact material regulation (EC) No 1935/2004. In these regulations, MOH is defined as a substance group that is undesirable and whose content in food should be minimized according to the ALARA principle (as low as reasonably achievable). Furthermore, in April 2019, the Food Federation Germany and the German Federal State Working Group for Consumer Health Protection (LAC) published orientation values for MOH content in certain food groups for the first time.

The GBA Group already added the analysis of MOSH and MOAH to our analytical portfolio several years ago and since then we have been continuously monitoring the latest developments in the field. The analysis is based on the methods published by the BfR and has been optimized by the GBA Group and is performed routinely with an LC-GC-FID combination. If you are interested in getting any further information on this topic, then please feel free to get in contact with us.

Sources:
https://www.bfr.bund.de/de/fragen_und_antworten_zu_mineraloelbestandteilen_in_lebensmitteln-132213.html
https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2012.2704
https://www.lebensmittelverband.de/de/aktuell/20190502-veroeffentlichung-moh-orientierungswerte

Following this link you will find information on the orientation values for mineral oil hydrocarbons (MOH) in food (as of June 2020):
https://www.lebensmittelverband.de/download/orientierungswerte-fuer-moh-in-lebensmitteln

Service

Request for an offer or callback

Do you have questions about a certain topic? You need an individual offer?

Please, use our services to inform us about your matter of interest. You can also reach us by telephone at +49 40 797172-0

Flyer und Downloads

Analysis of MOSH & MOAH

Download

You might also be interested in

Fruit and Vegetables

Coffee and Tea

Herbs and Spices

Babyfood

Dried Fruit, Nuts, and Oilseeds

Grains and Cereal

Dietary Supplements and Over-the-Counter Medicinal Products

Fish and Meats

Events

© 2020 GBA Group
Data PrivacyLegal NoticeTerms & ConditionsDisclosure

Wissen, was drin ist:

Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffe

MOSH / MOAH

Mineralöle sind Kohlenwasserstoffverbindungen (MOH: Mineral Oil Hydrocarbons), die durch Destillation von Rohöl gewonnen werden können. Im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch sind mit Mineralölen vor allem Treibstoffe wie Benzin, Diesel, Kerosin, Heizöl sowie Schmierstoffe und Lösungsmittel gemeint. Grundsätzlich handelt es sich bei Mineralölen um komplexe Gemische einer Vielzahl einzelner Kohlenwasserstoffe, die sich in zwei Gruppen unterteilen lassen. Zum einen in lineare, verzweigte und cyclische gesättigte Kohlenwasserstoffe (MOSH: Mineral Oil Saturated Hydrocarbons) sowie in meist alkylierte aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe (MOAH: Mineral Oil Aromatic Hydrocarbons). Den MOSH strukturell verwandt sind die sogenannten POSH (Polyolefin Oligomeric Saturated Hydrocarbons), die aus erdölhergestellten Kunststoffen wie Polyethylen und Polypropylen stammen. Aufgrund der starken Strukturähnlichkeit sind POSH analytisch von den MOSH meist nicht zu unterscheiden.

Untersuchungen der Europäischen Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) ergaben, dass MOH in nahezu allen Lebensmitteln vorhanden sind. Besonders bei trockenen Lebensmitteln mit einer großen Oberfläche wie z. B. Mehl, Grieß, Reis, Semmelbrösel oder Frühstückscerealien ist eine Kontamination nicht auszuschließen. Auch fettreiche Lebensmittel wie Schokolade, Butter, Nüsse oder Speiseöle können mit MOH kontaminiert sein. Der Eintrag in die Lebensmittel kann auf vielen verschiedenen Wegen erfolgen. Mögliche Kontaminationswege sind Verpackungsmaterialien (Recyclingpapier, Druckfarben, mit Ölen imprägnierte Jute- und Sisalsäcke), Schmieröle aus Ernte- und Produktionsmaschinen, Lebensmittelzusatzstoffe (Trenn-, Überzugs-, Glanz- und Antistaubmittel), Abgase aus der Umwelt u. v. m. Eine vollständige Vermeidung von Einträgen in Lebensmittel ist technisch bei heutigen Warenströmen und Produktionsprozessen eine schwer umzusetzende Aufgabe.

Durch die Aufnahme von MOH über die Lebensmittel kommt es beim Menschen zur Anreicherung dieser Substanzen im Körperfett. Besonders in Leber, Herzklappen und Lymphknoten können sich Ablagerungen von mineralischen Kohlenwasserstoffen bilden und dort zu Schäden führen. Aufgrund unzureichender Datenlage ist jedoch nicht bekannt, ab welcher Exposition es zu nachteiligen Auswirkungen beim Menschen kommt, weshalb auch keine täglich tolerierbare Aufnahmemenge (TDI) empfohlen werden kann. Die EFSA stuft MOAH als grundsätzlich bedenklich ein und laut Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) sind Mineralölkontaminationen sowohl mit MOAH als auch mit MOSH prinzipiell unerwünscht. Folglich existieren derzeit keine rechtsverbindlich festgelegten Höchstgehalte in Lebensmitteln. Zur Orientierung können die Basisverordnung für Lebensmittel (EG) Nr. 178/2002, die Kontaminantenverordnung (EWG) 315/93, die GMP-Verordnung (EG) Nr. 2023/2006 sowie die Lebensmittelkontaktmaterialien Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1935/2004 herangezogen werden. Hier werden MOH als nicht erwünschte Stoffgruppe definiert, deren Gehalte in Lebensmitteln nach dem ALARA-Prinzip (As Low As Reasonably Achieveable) so gering wie möglich sein sollten. Des Weiteren haben der Lebensmittelverband Deutschland e. V. und die Länderarbeitsgemeinschaft gesundheitlicher Verbraucherschutz (LAV) im April 2019 erstmals Orientierungswerte für MOH-Gehalte in bestimmten Lebensmittelgruppen veröffentlicht.

Die GBA Group hat die Untersuchung von MOSH und MOAH bereits vor Jahren in das Portfolio der Untersuchungsmethoden aufgenommen und beobachtet die neuen Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich. Die Analytik basiert auf der vom BfR veröffentlichten Methode, die von der GBA Group optimiert worden ist und in der Routine mit einer LC-GC-FID-Kopplung durchgeführt wird. Sollten Sie an weiterführenden Details interessiert sein, dann nehmen Sie gerne mit uns Kontakt auf.

Quellen:
https://www.bfr.bund.de/de/fragen_und_antworten_zu_mineraloelbestandteilen_in_lebensmitteln-132213.html
https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2012.2704
https://www.lebensmittelverband.de/de/aktuell/20190502-veroeffentlichung-moh-orientierungswerte

Unter diesem Link erhalten Sie Informationen zu den Orientierungswerten für Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffe (MOH) in Lebensmitteln (Stand Juni 2020): https://www.lebensmittelverband.de/download/orientierungswerte-fuer-moh-in-lebensmitteln

Service

Angebots- und Rückrufservice

Sie benötigen ein individuelles Angebot oder haben Fragen zu einem Thema? Nutzen Sie unseren Angebots- und Rückrufservice! Sie können uns auch telefonisch erreichen unter: Tel. +49 40 797172-0

Flyer und Downloads

Analytik von MOSH / MOAH

Download

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Obst und Gemüse

Tee und Kaffee

Kräuter und Gewürze

Babyfood

Trockenfrüchte und Nüsse

Getreide

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Fisch und Fleisch

Messen & Events

© 2020 GBA Group
DatenschutzRechtliche HinweiseAGBImpressum