Know what´s inside:

Lead

Naturally occurring Contaminant Lead

Lead is a naturally occurring contaminant that is ubiquitous in the environment due to rock erosion and volcanism. However, lead can also end up in the environment due to industrial emissions. Dust and precipitation are deposited directly on the surface of plants. That is why fruit and vegetables that grow above ground with a large surface area are particularly susceptible to lead contamination. Lead can also end up in animal-based food products via the livestock feed, as it accumulates in the livers and kidneys of the livestock.

Lead is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract at rates of 50% for children and 10% for adults, and subsequently transported through the bloodstream to various organs such as the kidneys and liver, or into the nervous system. Furthermore, lead easily penetrates the placental barrier, so lead contamination can even occur before birth.

Approximately 90% of the lead that is absorbed ends up being deposited in bones and teeth. Since lead can only be eliminated from the body very slowly, over the course of time, it tends to accumulate. Critical endpoints for lead toxicity include damage to the developing nervous system (both prior to birth and during childhood), kidney damage, as well as adverse effects on the circulatory system.

In order to protect consumers, the European Commission laid down maximum levels for lead in certain kinds of food, listed in the EU regulation on contaminant maximum levels, Regulation (EC) No 1881/2006.

The GBA Group can test your food for lead, either as an individual heavy metal or with the help of a screening method that enables lead content to be identified together with 20 additional elements. If you would like any further details, we are gladly available to assist you.

Source:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:02006R1881-20200701

Service

Request for an offer or callback

Do you have questions about a certain topic? You need an individual offer?

Please, use our services to inform us about your matter of interest. You can also reach us by telephone at +49 40 797172-0

You might also be interested in

Fruit and Vegetables

More

Coffee and Tea

Herbs and Spices

Babyfood

Dried Fruit, Nuts, and Oilseeds

Grains and Cereal

Dietary Supplements and Over-the-Counter Medicinal Products

Fish and Meats

Events

© 2020 GBA Group
Data PrivacyLegal NoticeTerms & ConditionsDisclosure

Wissen, was drin ist:

Blei

Umweltkontaminant Blei

Blei ist ein natürlicher Umweltkontaminant und aufgrund von Gesteinserosionen und Vulkanismus ubiquitär in der Umwelt verbreitet. Blei gelangt jedoch auch durch Emissionen der Industrie in die Umwelt. Staub und Niederschläge lagern sich direkt auf die Oberfläche von Pflanzen ab. Daher sind Obst und oberirdisch wachsende Gemüsearten mit großer Oberfläche von der Bleikontamination besonders betroffen. Über Futtermittel kann Blei ebenfalls in Lebensmittel tierischer Herkunft gelangen. Dort lagert es sich in den Lebern und Nieren von Schlachttieren an.

Blei wird bei Kindern zu etwa 50 %, bei Erwachsenen zu etwa 10 % aus dem Magen-Darmtrakt in den Körper aufgenommen und anschließend über den Blutstrom in diverse Organe wie z. B. das Nervensystem, Nieren und Leber transportiert. Darüber hinaus kann Blei leicht die Plazentaschranke überwinden, sodass bereits vor der Geburt eine Belastung stattfinden kann.

Etwa 90 % des aufgenommenen Bleis lagert sich in Knochen und Zähnen ab. Da Blei nur langsam wieder ausgeschieden werden kann, kommt es im Laufe der Zeit zu einer Anreicherung im Körper. Als kritische Endpunkte der Toxizität gelten die Schädigung des sich entwickelnden Nervensystem (sowohl vor der Geburt als auch im Kindesalter nach der Geburt), eine Schädigung der Nieren sowie schädigende Wirkung auf das Herz-Kreislaufsystem.

Zum Schutz des Verbrauchers hat die Europäische Kommission Höchstgehalte für Blei in bestimmten Lebensmitteln festgelegt, die in der EU-Kontaminanten-Höchstgehalteverordnung (EG) Nr. 1881/2006 verankert sind.

Die GBA Group kann Ihre Lebensmittel nur auf Blei als einzelnes Schwermetall oder auch mit Hilfe einer Screening-Methode, mit der neben Blei über 20 weitere Elemente erfasst werden können, untersuchen. Für weiterführende Details stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

Quellen:
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/TXT/?uri=CELEX:02006R1881-20200701

Service

Angebots- und Rückrufservice

Sie benötigen ein individuelles Angebot oder haben Fragen zu einem Thema? Nutzen Sie unseren Angebots- und Rückrufservice! Sie können uns auch telefonisch erreichen unter: Tel. +49 40 797172-0

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Obst und Gemüse

Mehr

Tee und Kaffee

Kräuter und Gewürze

Babyfood

Trockenfrüchte und Nüsse

Getreide

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Fisch und Fleisch

Messen & Events

© 2020 GBA Group
DatenschutzRechtliche HinweiseAGBImpressum