Know what´s inside:

Tin-Carbon Bonds (Organotin Compounds)

Organotin Compounds

Organotin compounds are chemical compounds that are composed of one or several tin-carbon bonds. There is a wide range of potential applications for organotin compounds, primarily in wood protection agents, antifouling coatings, and plant protection products, which has resulted in these substances entering the environment and subsequently our food chain. Since organotin compounds do not degrade easily, they remain present in the environment for several years, and can even end up in the fish, both marine and freshwater, as well as other marine animals such as shellfish.

Studies on the toxicity of organotin compounds have found that their effects on the immune system and reproductive system (including hormonal effects) are of particular importance. According to the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), if consumers ingest organotin compounds from a variety of products on a daily basis, then their exposure will not be negligible in the worst case.

Known organotin compounds that have been used as pesticides are fentin hydroxide, fentin acetate, and fenbutatin oxide. Whereas fentin hydroxide and fentin acetate were already banned in the European Union (EU) a long time ago, fenbutatin oxide was permitted for use as a plant protection agent until 2014. These three substances were introduced into the soil through agricultural usage, where they were absorbed by the roots of the crops and ultimately entered our food chain. In order to protect consumers, there are still maximum levels valid for fentin hydroxide, fentin acetate, and fenbutatin oxide, since these active agents are still used in some non-EU countries. The maximum levels are provided in the Regulation (EC) No. 396/2005. Additionally, in the German regulation for dietary foods, there is also a maximum level for fentin compounds in agricultural produce that is to be used in the production of infant formula, follow-on formula, cereal-based baby food, and other foods for infants and small children.

The GBA Group carries out the analysis of organotin compounds at the limits of quantification required by the Regulation (EC) No. 396/2005 as well as the regulation for dietary foods, and we are gladly available to serve as your expert partner in this field.

Sources:
https://www.bfr.bund.de/de/a-z_index/organozinnverbindungen-4733.html
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32005R0396
https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/di_tv/BJNR004150963.html

Service

Request for an offer or callback

Do you have questions about a certain topic? You need an individual offer?

Please, use our services to inform us about your matter of interest. You can also reach us by telephone at +49 40 797172-0

You might also be interested in

Fruit and Vegetables

More

Coffee and Tea

Herbs and Spices

Babyfood

Dried Fruit, Nuts, and Oilseeds

Grains and Cereal

Dietary Supplements and Over-the-Counter Medicinal Products

Fish and Meats

Events

© 2020 GBA Group
Data PrivacyLegal NoticeTerms& ConditionsDisclosure

Wissen, was drin ist:

Zinn-Kohlenstoff-Bindungen (Organozinnverbindungen)

Organozinnverbindungen

Organozinnverbindungen sind chemische Verbindungen, die aus einer oder mehreren Zinn-Kohlenstoff-Bindungen bestehen. Die vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Organozinnverbindungen vor allem in Holzschutzmitteln, Antifouling-Anstrichen und Pflanzenschutzmitteln führte zum Eintrag dieser Substanzen in die Umwelt und somit auch in die menschliche Nahrungskette. Da Organozinnverbindungen schlecht abgebaut werden, sind sie jahrelang in der Umwelt verfügbar und gelangen teilweise auch in See- und Süßwasserfische sowie Meerestiere wie z. B. Muscheln.

Bei Untersuchungen zur Giftigkeit von Organozinnverbindungen ist vor allem ihre Wirkung auf das Immunsystem und die Fortpflanzung (einschließlich der Wirkung auf Hormone) von Bedeutung. Nimmt ein Verbraucher täglich Organozinnverbindungen aus verschiedenen Produkten auf, unterliegt er nach Einschätzung des Bundesinstituts für Risikobewertung (BfR) im schlimmsten anzunehmenden Fall einer nicht zu vernachlässigenden Belastung.

Bekannte Organozinnverbindungen, die als Pflanzenschutzmittel eingesetzt wurden, sind Fentinhydroxid, Fentinacetat und Fenbutatinoxid. Während Fentinhydroxid und Fentinacetat in der Europäischen Union (EU) schon lange verboten sind, konnte Fenbutatinoxid bis 2014 als Pflanzenschutzmittel verwendet werden. Die drei genannten Substanzen wurden durch die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung in die Ackerböden eingetragen, wo sie über die Wurzeln von Nutzpflanzen aufgenommen worden sind und schlussendlich in die Nahrungskette des Menschen gelangten. Zum Schutz des Verbrauchers gibt es weiterhin Höchstwerte für Fentinhydroxid, Fentinacetat und Fenbutatinoxid, da die Wirkstoffe in Nicht-EU-Ländern immer noch eingesetzt werden. Die Höchstgehalte sind in der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 396/2005 geregelt. Zudem existiert in der Verordnung für diätetische Lebensmittel ein Höchstwert für Fentin-Verbindungen in landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnissen, die zur Herstellung von Säuglingsanfangsnahrung, Folgenahrung, Getreidebeikost und anderer Beikost für Säuglinge und Kleinkinder benutzt werden.

Die GBA Group führt die Untersuchung von Organozinnverbindungen unter Einhaltung der durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 396/2005 sowie durch die Verordnung für diätetische Lebensmittel geforderten Bestimmungsgrenzen durch und steht Ihnen als kompetenter Partner gerne zur Verfügung.

Quellen:
https://www.bfr.bund.de/de/a-z_index/organozinnverbindungen-4733.html
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32005R0396
https://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/di_tv/BJNR004150963.html

Service

Angebots- und Rückrufservice

Sie benötigen ein individuelles Angebot oder haben Fragen zu einem Thema? Nutzen Sie unseren Angebots- und Rückrufservice! Sie können uns auch telefonisch erreichen unter: Tel. +49 40 797172-0

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Obst und Gemüse

Mehr

Tee und Kaffee

Kräuter und Gewürze

Babyfood

Trockenfrüchte und Nüsse

Getreide

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Fisch und Fleisch

Messen & Events

© 2020 GBA Group
DatenschutzRechtliche HinweiseAGBImpressum